Archive for February 16th, 2008|Daily archive page

More Detailed Information About Marie

In any election voters must seek information about candidates in order to make an informed decision about why, or why not, to vote for a specific candidate.  The 2008 Wayne County Republican primary has three candidates: Martin Frantz, David Todaro, and yours truly. To this point in the race, the comments I’ve heard (or read) seem to center around why not to vote for one candidate or another. I see this as a communication issue. Specifically, there is not enough credible information regarding what the candidates plan to do upon being elected to that office, or what the candidates have to offer in the area of experience specific to the position of Wayne County Prosecutor.                               

                                                                                                                                                                                                                 That is why I’ve decided to take the initiative in this race to provide you with information about my history as a prosecuting attorney in Wayne county, to explain to you what I see as critical issues facing that office today, and to explain to you what I envision the office becoming if you elect me to serve you in 2008.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                   My specific qualifications and personal biography have been detailed on my website: www.you-deserve-moore.com. That is a great place to start to learn about my technical expertise, educational background, and personal history. Beyond the information provided in my personal and professional bios, I would like to share with you my personal experiences I had as an Assistant Wayne County Prosecutor and my plan to bring respect back to that organization if elected.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                When I was hired an Assistant Prosecutor in Wayne county in 1998, I didn’t see it as an entry level position to be used to build my resume so that I could move on to bigger, better, and more lucrative endeavors as a private attorney. For me, representing victims and seeking justice was the big leagues, and I put my heart and soul into my job. Almost immediately I began riding along in police cruisers with officers from several departments in Wayne county during the night shift (after having put in 8 hours at the office, or during my “free time” on the weekends). Naturally, this was voluntary. There was no requirement for me to do this, other than my personal mission to get a better understanding of the issues that face the officers on the street and to see things from their perspectives, as well as those of the victims at the scene of the crime.

                                                                                                                                                                                                             Furthermore, I made sure that the various police departments in Wayne county had my home phone number as well as my mobile phone number so that I could answer legal questions from officers 24 hours a day. During my tenure as an assistant prosecutor I handled countless numbers of calls from officers seeking counsel. Once again, these calls did not cost the taxpayers a dime. It was never about money, and it never will be with me. It has always been about doing the thing I love most, and constantly working to improve. I don’t view being a public servant as an 8 hour a day, 40 hour a week endeavor. I saw my salary as the reward for having the privilege to serve the community.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                 From my experiences described above, I understood that officers and victims deserved an explanation about why, or why not, a case was prosecuted. If a case needed more information, I made sure to provide the officer and/or the victim with the specific information needed to proceed with the case. In many instances, the officers would go out and get that information and the case would go forward. I’ve heard that some critics have suggested that I have been overzealous in charging cases. I find this criticism to be interesting: that I’ve worked TOO hard to prosecute a case. I can tell you that I firmly believed that I could prove every single case that I charged as an Assistant Prosecuting Attorney in Wayne county.                                

                                                                                                                                                                                                                  There has been much speculation about my departure from that office. I can tell you that I resigned—but I didn’t want to leave. It was obvious to me that my morals and ethics did not match those of the organization’s leadership at that time. I was never satisfied with the way my tenure ended and I still have questions that will never be answered. I am at peace with that fact. In seeing how things have turned out since I’ve left, I am not at all surprised. Perhaps leaving when I did was ultimately the very best thing that could have happened. It has opened new doors for me, and perhaps has created an opportunity to come back and provide principles-based leadership that will bring about much needed change.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                     In looking at the state of the prosecutor’s office today, I see an organization that is like a ship adrift on the ocean without a rudder (or even sails for that matter!). Turnover is high, including the loss of several valuable employees. Scandals have hit the pages of the newspaper. Open communication with the public is virtually non-existent. Respect, in my opinion, is at an all time low. Accountability in these areas rests with the Prosecuting Attorney of Wayne County.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                       I have developed a vision for improving the environment of that office and returning respect, dignity, and credibility to that office through sound leadership.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    My first step would be to ensure that every single member of that office fully understands their responsibilities and is properly trained, not only in the performance of their jobs, but in the shared values of the office. I will emphasize that talent and experience will be valued, but it will NEVER take the place of integrity in one’s personal and professional lives. I do not believe that public servants should live one set of principals in public and another set of principles in private. In my opinion, the scandals that have rocked that office are a direct result of a lack of clarity in the area of values. Respect for other employees, members of other agencies, and the public is mandatory. Period. In terms of behavior, I believe two types get repeated: good behavior that is rewarded and bad behavior that gets ignored. Under my leadership both good and bad behavior will be acknowledged. I will not only have an open door policy, I will ensure that I meet with all members of the office on a regular basis. I don’t want to just be a problem solver—I want to be a problem seeker, so that I can address issues before it is too late!!

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Next, I will work to re-establish a climate of open communication with the public, the partner agencies that work with prosecutor’s office, and the courts. I want to continue to be available to address concerns and explain decisions. I won’t pretend to have all the answers, or make excuses to cover up deficiencies. I think I’ve established myself during this campaign as the candidate of communication. That will never change.

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Lastly, I will carefully recruit and retain personnel who share this vision. Everyone must embrace these ideals in order to best serve the community of Wayne county and to ensure that our efforts are focused and honorable. I cannot imagine retaining anyone who doesn’t recognize the extraordinary need to conduct oneself as a model citizen and professional at all times. I cannot imagine a circumstance where I would ever hesitate to remove a member for a serious violation of ethics, much less the law!!

                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Please take the opportunity to post your thoughts or ask specific questions for me to address here.

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Thank you for taking the time to learn about me. I hope it helps you make your decision on March 4th!!

~Marie